The MAC will realign to nine-and-nine beginning in 2020-21 with the addition of both Stevens and York (Pa.)


ANNVILLE, Pa. (Conference News) – The Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) has announced its plan to realign the MAC Commonwealth and MAC Freedom beginning in the 2020-21 academic year with the addition of both Stevens Institute of Technology and York College of Pennsylvania. The MAC will move to a nine-and-nine conference structure.

“We are so proud to welcome Stevens and York to the MAC,” said Dr. Thomas Botzman, MAC Executive Committee Chair and Misericordia University President. “We are also very excited to see that the conference will be able to preserve many of its historic rivalries with our new alignment.”

With the addition of both Stevens and York (Pa.), the MAC increases its membership to 18 institutions beginning in the 2020-21 academic year. The new realignment will place nine institutions in both the MAC Commonwealth and the MAC Freedom. Three institutions will be making a new home in the realignment, including Arcadia University, Eastern University and Lycoming College.

The new conference structure can be viewed below.

Albright College Arcadia University
Alvernia University Delaware Valley University
Eastern University DeSales University
Hood College Fairleigh Dickinson University – Florham Campus
Lebanon Valley College King’s College
Messiah College Lycoming College
Stevenson University Misericordia University
Widener University Stevens Institute of Technology
York College Wilkes University

“The nine-and-nine structure allows another team to qualify for conference postseason play in our [NCAA] automatic qualifier sports,” said Ken Andrews, MAC Executive Director. “Also with this new alignment, we prioritized missed class time by decreasing overall travel time for our membership as a whole.”

The new alignment will affect 13 of the 27 sports that are split into two conferences, including baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, field hockey, men’s golf, men’s and women’s lacrosse, men’s and women’s soccer, softball, men’s and women’s tennis and women’s volleyball.